Balkan Music &
Dance Workshops

Every summer the EEFC presents two week-long summer camps. Follow the links below to read all about and register for the 2024 workshops!

June 15-22, 2024
More info…

August 10-17, 2024
More info…

join-the-circle |

Join the circle.
Make a contribution.

Since the beginning the East European Folklife Center has depended on you—our big-hearted community!

Get Your EEFC Swag!

T-shirts, totes, and more — sporting the beautiful EEFC rosette. Tell the world about your favorite summer activity!
See the Collection


Stay in Touch

There’s more than one way to stay connected to the EEFC throughout the year. Subscribe to our email Newsletter for monthly updates. Join the Discussion List (an active email group with searchable archives since 1993). Send us a message.


Get the FAQs

Find out almost everything you always wanted to know about the EEFC’s in-person Balkan camps.


Kids at Camp!

Our in-person workshops are a great experience for families. Get the scoop to ensure everyone has a blast!


We award full scholarships to our in-person workshops.
Find out more

Aya & Tano

Greek and Balkan

Aya Safiya and Tano Brock play a variety of music styles from around the Balkans, including Greek, Albanian, Turkish, and Romani. They both started playing Balkan music at a young age, and have been collaborators for over a decade. Between 2013 and 2015 they traveled around the Balkans to study with the likes of Kočani Orkestar, Nicos Chatzopoulos, Nikos Oikonomidhis, and Zhani Struga. Aya and Tano play frequently as a duo, and have been founding members of numerous bands including Agapi Mou, Taraf de Locos, Istanbul Connection, and Sarma Brass Band. They have played at events around the country such as Golden Festival, CRASHFest, FDF, Balkan Night, Greek Feet, and numerous Greek church festivals. Both Aya and Tano teach workshops periodically in the Bay Area, as well as at music camps around California, including the EEFC West Coast Balkan Music & Dance Workshop. 

For the West Coast BalkanFest, the band will be: Aya Safiya – violin & vocals; Tano Brock – clarinet, sax & vocals; Nick Maroussis – clarinet & laouto; Johnnie Gilmore – bass; Sean Tergis – percussion.